Observer Organizations

The RCM includes 12 regional or international organizations with observer status that support projects identified by governments, share information about topics of interest, provide technical assistance, and formulate recommendations in specific cases. The Presidency Pro-Témpore and the Executive Secretariat will identify the slots in the agendas in which these organizations participate.

They are:

  • International Organization for Migration (IOM);
  • Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean/Latin American and Caribbean Demographic Centre (ECLAC/CELADE);
  • United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR);
  • Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR);
  • United Nations Special Rapporteur on the Human Rights of Migrants;
  • Central American Integration System (SICA);
  • United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA);
  • Ibero-American General Secretariat (SEGIB);
  • International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC);
  • United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF);
  • International Labour Organization (ILO);
  • United Nations Development Program (UNDP);
  • United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)

For an international organization to be considered by the Vice-Ministers as a new candidate for observer status, it should:

  • Commit to promote the principles of the Puebla Joint Communiqué;
  • Have a mandate related to at least one of the key themes of the Plan of Action;
  • Submit a written application to Vice-Ministers to support therequest for observer status.


  • Be invited to make declarations but may not participate in the discussion or development of documents relating to recommendations and decisions reached as a result of the RCM meetings;
  • Accept that Member States of RCM reserve the right to hold meetings exclusively for Member Countries.